How to do Automated Testing for IBM BPM (Part VI) - Status Reporting

Don’t Panic! You haven’t missed anything. I’ve just decided to “go Star Wars"…

I think there is something of a snowball effect when it comes to continuous integration. The more you do, the more cool stuff becomes available to you. I guess it’s a bit like owning an Apple product.

I expect that most readers are familiar with some degree of instability across environments/integrations and it recently crossed my mind that I should “make it a tangible thing" instead of just complaining about it.

I would like to share a simple (once you’ve done the hard work of creating an automated test framework and implementing a robust log analysis platform) approach to Status Reporting.

Here is a feature file describing some Endpoint Tests…

These tests are scheduled to run in Jenkins (other tools are available) every ten minutes.

Here’s a Splunk (other tools are available) dashboard from the resultant data…



So the cost of my nice new report (beyond my original “spend") was the time taken to i. create a feature file, ii. schedule a job and iii. craft a search. I think that’s pretty good “value for money".


I learnt a new Splunk command along the way. It’s called xyseries (link). You should check it out.


comments powered by Disqus