Ingestible Data Facilitates Process Improvement

I recently came across this gem on LinkedIn (the original source being TFL - http://content.tfl.gov.uk/walking-tube-map.pdf)...


It was particularly pertinent as I had just spent a day bouncing around London and I’m a little ashamed to say that Edsger Wybe Dijkstra would be turning in his grave if he saw my solution to the Travelling BPM Consultant problem.

I spend more time than most thinking about the most effective way to go about my everyday life and it’s my view that the journey never ends and that the pursuit of increased effectiveness is a fun thing to do.
From a content perspective, there’s nothing revolutionary in the visualisation above. In fact, it’s all pretty trivial and I could probably have filled in a few of those numbers myself. What I find interesting (with this and with any good visualisation) is that it puts the data at your fingertips and engenders further questions e.g.

What are the average corresponding tube journey times?
What are the average transfer times between lines at all multi-line stations?

One day (happy to take wagers on this) you’ll be able to ask Siri:

What’s likely to be the quickest way for me to get to my meeting at Ludgate Hill?

And, of course, the answer will depend on the weather.

comments powered by Disqus