Tweaking Process Designer

I've talked about this before but the more I use non-BPM IDEs (e.g. IntelliJ) the more frustrated I get with Process Designer. What's particularly disappointing is that stuff that Eclipse (which it is built on) is capable of is often locked down (e.g. the ability to detach views and run multiple windows across multiple monitors).

I recently discovered (thanks to makvell on the IBM BPM forums) that there are a few Eclipse settings that you can change. If you press Ctrl+Shift+L+L you will get a slightly different Preferences Window to the one you get via the File - Preferences menu (if you've already opened File - Preferences you will need to restart Eclipse for Ctrl+Shift+L+L to work).


Using this window you can change the colour of Javascript comments, hide the grid background on Services, and expose the New Window functionality (this can cause it to get grumpy). I strongly suggest that you don't change the current theme.

I think that the ability to detach views and run multiple windows across multiple monitors is the thing that I would like the most but my wish-list also includes:

Improved Code Editors for Code (Javascript / HTML / CSS)
Formatting / Beautification (Code and Diagrams)
Quality Checking (i.e. Lint-style Tools)
Refactoring (Code and Diagrams)
Search (including Code)
In-Line Managed File Editors for Code

This list is (intentionally) very developer-oriented. I will talk about business-focused improvements another day...




comments powered by Disqus