Super Chickens

So... I'm moving back to the UK (early next year) and I find myself reflecting on my time in Australia. I often shrug off enquiries about working in Australia with something along the lines of "work is work, wherever you are in the world" and, while that's kinda true, my experiences in Australia have helped to shape my view of how to achieve success at work.

I recently watched a TED Talk about "Super Chickens":


It really resonated with me and I feel that the team I am leaving is a very good example of these theories in practice.

Our team comprises six individuals. Each with a voice, an opinion and experience to bring to bear. We each have different preferences and motivations but, like most people, we want to do a good job because it gives meaning to our efforts.

As I look back over the last few months I can easily pick out times when the team has helped to steer itself, where one individual with a good vision has taken counsel from the team and delivered something great.

These things are also true of my basketball team out here as well. Three years ago we were a very tenuously connected bunch of guys that liked basketball but now we're a tightly knit group of friends. Much as Lebron's Fab Five exceeded the sum of their parts, our chemistry regularly helps us win matches that we might not otherwise.

I'm optimistic that this is a global trend and not just an Australian thing. I hope to become part of a great team in the UK and my decision making process will reflect this priority.

comments powered by Disqus