The Value of Certifications

Here's a "checkpoint" question in some training material for an IBM BPM exam. It could easily be an exam question...

True or False?

In Business Process Manager, snapshots can be taken only in the Process Center.

The stated correct answer is...

False



I read this question a few times before I settled on an answer. It didn't quite feel right as a question (more on that shortly) but I ultimately assumed that it was asking me to demonstrate an understanding of the difference between a Process Center and a Process Server and the fact that artifacts are created on the former and pushed out (as snapshots) to the latter.

So I answered True.

In retrospect, what didn't feel right was the "in". With my line of thinking, it should have been an "on". However, the question didn't mean "Process Center" the SERVER it meant "Process Center" the PORTAL. In this case, "in" is right and the answer is false because you can also take snapshots in Process Designer (the IDE) and from the command line (using wasadmin).

I know all of these things. I've lost count of the number of people that I've taught these things to over the years. I had found a peace between the duplicitous terms "Process Center" (which is both a Server and a Portal) and "Process Server" (which is both a Server and a component i.e. "the Process Center comprises a Process Server and a Performance Data Warehouse").

I'm not really sure what my point is so I will settle on this...

Asking people to talk in their own words about how something works provides a vastly superior insight (I concede it is more expensive) into knowledge and ability than a certificate.

A corollary...

If you are looking for a partner to work with you on your IBM BPM journey don't pick the guys that open with "all of our consultants are certified". Pick the guys that open with questions about your business processes or the ones that offer up real world examples of projects they have successfully delivered.

comments powered by Disqus