You Get What You Pay For

I'm a big fan of all things Apple. It started many years ago when I began contracting and found myself in a position to choose my own devices. Over the years I have given them a fair amount of money and I'm very happy with what they've given me in return.

It dawned on me recently (as I had some JayBird BlueBuds X Wireless Headphones replaced) that I have returned a bunch of stuff over the years (e.g. my first two iPhone 5s were replaced) but it hasn't really made a dent in my opinion of the brand. This is, in my view, entirely down to the after sales experience in Apple stores.

This same mentality can be applied to the world of BPM consulting and delivery (just as it can to almost anything that is sold). Products and relationships transcend project timescales and, in the long run, it is better for both parties to take a holistic approach to provisioning.

I know that pretty much anything I buy from an Apple store could be obtained cheaper elsewhere but I always go to Apple stores because what the extra money gets me is worth it to me. The BPM implementation / services industry has historically been dominated by project-based models but, led by companies like BP3 it feels like this is starting to change.

comments powered by Disqus