Your data is for life, not just for Christmas..

The year end is, even in the strangest of years, a natural time to reflect on the year past and contemplate the year ahead. Many common platforms take the opportunity to provide a consolidated view of the last 12 months.
Here's an example from Strava:

Users must find these visualisations interesting, otherwise they wouldn't make them, but I wonder how many users will look at them and want more. It's interesting that my top sport is running but I'd like to know what that really means and if it varies throughout the year.
Here's a journey you can take around the same data in Sownata in around the same time it takes to watch the two minute presentation from Strava:
This is a good place to start; how many Strava workouts did I do in 2020? 43.
Tapping on "..." and selecting group by "Activity" yields some insights into my different activity types. 22 runs, 14 bike rides and 7 walks.
A zoom gesture on the chart switches to a monthly breakdown. This reveals that I only started recording in Strava in August and that I cycle less often in the winter months.
Tapping on "events" you can select either "minutes" or "km". Cycling is my dominant activity for both measures. My runs are getting longer in December.
For more information (and an instructional YouTube video) take a look at: https://sownata.com/user-manual/import/strava/
Sownata understands data from various popular platforms (Facebook, Instagram, Netflix, Twitter, YouTube, Strava and HealthKit). It's not something you'll use every day but it's there, all year round, whenever you want it.

Just to be clear; I love Strava. The application is great, the community is overwhelmingly positive and the API is comprehensive and easy to work with.

comments powered by Disqus